I re-read books. Do you?

I re-read books.

I know that some people just do, and some don’t. I re-read books for the 2nd, 5th, 10th, cough 20th (Harry Potter) time and love them just the same. I love that tingling feeling you get when you are anticipating something and even though I know what that something is, I still get all excited just the same. Sometimes I think it is better the 2nd or 20th time. I can anticipate what’s coming and even though I kind of know the story, you don’t remember everything and each time I can find a new and different part that I didn’t remember from the last time. That’s why books are so outstanding. I really love reading stories at a different point in your life. Re-reading books that you read in high school or even before is really quite amazing. You find new insight into the characters and find new lessons that the author was trying to impart on the reader. It’s all about context and finding that new context in an old book is really awesome for me. It also goes the other way, I have been following a thread on Goodreads about “A Wrinkle in Time” by Madame Engle and have been trying to defend a book that I thoroughly enjoyed as a kid and as an adult. Each time I read it, I found that I connected with different characters and took away a new idea or concept.

Right now I am re-reading Divergent however it is the most inappropriate time to be re-reading a book. I have 3 library books out and a Kindle FULL of those amazing cozy mysteries (free from Book Bub) and a to-read list on Goodreads that is a mile long! But I am. I got to the point where Tris jumps off the train and I was so excited inside and I almost literally squealed with joy when she first meets Four!! I know what happens at the end, and even throughout the whole book but reading it again makes it just as suspenseful. It’s almost easier to absorb the surrounding stories when you don’t have to focus on the direct plot. That opens up a whole can of worms about finding hidden meanings in books and how sometimes when I finish a book, I want to flip it over and start again because the ending changes everything and I feel like I need to read it again just to enjoy the new insight I gained from the ending!

Re-reading a book is like meeting an old friend again and I LOVE it!! I am notorious for re-reading Harry Potter. I literally had to rebuy The Sorcerer’s Stone because the cover fell off. The moral of this short post is to see if I am alone in this re-reading world or if I just need to get some friends and stop reading old books 🙂 Does anyone else find that re-reading a book gives it a new light and creates a whole new experience for you? If so, what is your favorite book or author to re-read? I have re-read a ton of books but a few of my favorite are Sarah Dessen, Dan Brown, The Giver, Harry Potter (of course), and To Kill a Mockingbird.

Do you ever feel guilty for re-reading a book when you know there are so many outstanding ones out there?!

Thanks for reading!! 🙂

imagesVR3UYOBJ

Let me know what you think!!!!

