Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel review- it was like all the characters were just supporting characters, supporting this mind blowing story which was the real main character.

This book was mind expanding and frustrating all at the same time. The thought process of creating this before and after world was amazing, while the characters and their progress were a bit slow. Overall a great book but I found it hard to connect because of the characters.

I just tried to type a synopsis of this book and erased it three times in a row….

So I decided to take an excerpt directly from the book description (cheating I know but the book is just too complex to explain)

“Spanning decades, moving back and forth in time, and vividly depicting life before and after the pandemic, this suspenseful, elegiac novel is rife with beauty. As Arthur falls in and out of love, as Jeevan watches the newscasters say their final good-byes, and as Kirsten finds herself caught in the crosshairs of the prophet, we see the strange twists of fate that connect them all.”

You can read the whole synopsis by clicking on the quote.

This book was intense and vivid. It depicted this terrifying world where everything was gone and we were all reduced to savages. It took everything we are used to and ruined it, changed it, and made us look like selfish pigs in a digital world where everything is handed to us on a silver platter. This book made me seriously look at the way I live my life, the things I take for granted every day. It was terrifying to think about how easily this pandemic could happen, how easily it did happen in this book. One character was haunted by the last cell phone conversation he had; not to his wife, but to his boss about a meeting the next day and an email that he would “shoot over” to the client. How simple that action seemed to be and how it was the last thing he was thinking about in the old world.

So, it seems like I loved the book right? I did. The plot and the intensity of the situation that the characters were in made this a delightful read. The problem, for me, was the characters. I think it depends on the type of reader you are. I find that I connect best with the book when I can connect with the characters and this book didn’t give you that. The story was outstanding and the characters were not meant to steal the show. They were there so that you had that emotional connection to the story. But that was a problem for me, I wanted to feel the horror that they were experiencing.

I wanted to feel more for the characters and I just couldn’t. It didn’t ruin the book for me though, because the story was so good that it stood up on its own, it was like all the characters were just supporting characters, supporting this mind blowing story which was the real main character.

I would love to hear what you thought about the book!! How did you like the ending? Did you feel the same for the characters?

Let me know what you think!!!!

